Rest

Rest…we all long for more of it and here God, our loving Father, says He just gives it to us. He even commanded a rest on the seventh day but how many of us actually pay attention to that command? Did He really mean do nothing all day?! Why do we question something that is so good for us? Find a day and do nothing all day. It would be a good day to fast too. That way our body would be doing nothing inside and out. If we actually rested one day a week I think we’d hear God’s voice better. We’d get direction for our lives because our focus could be totally on Him and His love and goodness towards us. Seems like when I try to fast food for a day that I make it through to about 1:00 or 2:00 and then my stomach says “NOOOOO! It’s too hard!” I’m working on it. Sowing some self control would be a great thing in this area of giving my body, my mind, my stomach a much needed rest. I can’t say “I’ll try” because that never works. I have to make a decision to do it and stick to it no matter what my stomach or my mind says. Oooooo I just had a thought …. what if I posted in public that tomorrow I’ll fast and rest? Oh, but I’m doing a garage sale today and tomorrow. See! Excuses already. I guess I can fast though and doing a garage sale isn’t that much work…just talking to people and taking money. Excuses to not rest already. Oh Father please help me to do what You’ve commanded and give my body and mind a rest.

By Cindy

I am my mother's daughter in that I like to express myself in writing and in speech. I love to study God's Word and express what I have learned and hope that by doing so I can encourage others in their walk with God. I am a piano teacher (since 1983). I've been married since 1980. I love crafting and music and reading and some gardening.

Leave a comment